Class 1:
Learning about the normative stages of our emotional reactions to the trauma or mental; your goals for your family member with mental illness and understanding illness symptoms.

Class 2:
Understanding Schizophrenia and Mood Episodes (depression and mania: Characteristic features of psychotic illnesses; questions and answers about getting through the critical periods in mental illness.

Class 3:
Mood Episodes, Borderline Personality Disorder, Anxiety Disorders, Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder, Dual Diagnosis; Types and subtypes of Mood Episodes; Diagnostic criteria for Borderline Personality Disorder, Panic Disorder, Obsessive Compulsive Disorder; Co-occurring brain and addictive disorders; telling our stories.

Class 4:
Basics about the brain: Functions of key areas; research on functional and structural brain abnormalities in major mental illnesses; genetic revolution in biological psychiatry; genetic transmission of major mental illnesses; infectious and neurodevelopmental which may cause mental illness; the biology of recovery; individual stages of recovery from brain disorders.

Class 5:
Problem Solving Skills Workshop: How to define a problem; sharing our problem statements; solving the problem; setting limits.

Class 6:
Inside Mental Illness: Understanding the subjective experience of coping with a brain disorder; problems in maintaining self-esteem and positive identity; gaining empathy for the psychological struggle to protect ones integrity in mental illness.

Class 7:
Communication Skills Workshop: How illness interferes with the capacity to communicate; learning to be clear; how to respond when the topic is loaded; talking to the person behind the symptoms of mental illness.

Class 8:
Self-care: Learning about family burden; sharing in relative groups; handling negative feelings

Class 9:
The Vision and Potential of Recovery: Learning about key principles of rehabilitation and model problems of community support.

Class 10:
Advocacy: Challenging the power of stigma in our lives; learning how to change the system.Class 11: Review, Sharing and Evaluation.

**The credit for all this information is giving to NAMI (National Alliance on Mental Illness**